top of page

The Heart Chakra (Anahata)

Updated: Mar 8, 2023

Part 5 of 8

The Heart chakra, or Anahata in Sanskrit is the fourth primary chakra and is located in the center of the chest. In Sanskrit the meaning is "unhurt, unstruck and unbeaten". The colors associated with the Heart Chakra are green and pink. The Element associated with this Chakra is the Fire element. Air links to our breath and life force energy stored in the lungs close to the heart chakra. This element is also related to touch, emotions and expansion. Therefore, when the heart chakra is healthy, we can express our feelings, open ourselves to others, and are more receptive to touch. The heart chakra is the energy center that allows us to give and receive love, playing an essential role in our happiness and wellbeing.

When the heart chakra is in balance and healthy you will feel surrounded by love, compassion, and joy and connected to the world around you. You will feel open to all experiences in life, and it will feel like challenges, especially in relationships, flow through you and are resolved with ease. An open-heart chakra allows us to see all of the beauty and love around us, and truly connect to ourselves, our loved ones, and the natural world. This chakra also helps direct love back to ourselves to truly be able to love and accept ourselves and our bodies. It governs not just romantic love but love between family, friends, strangers, and all living things. It is believed that the stronger the heart chakra, the more love, compassion, and empathy a person can feel and the more gratitude and joy they will experience.

If you're experiencing chakra imbalance, the heart chakra directly affects the heart, lungs, thymus gland, breasts, circulatory system, respiratory system, and the upper arms. When out of balance, poor circulation, high or low blood pressure, Asthma, heart disease, lung disease, thymus parathymic syndrome, pain in the arms, chronic upper back pain, and even breast cancer may result.

Some symptoms of an imbalance include shyness, inability to trust others, failure to open up to others, lack of self-love, possessiveness and jealousy in relationships, a judgmental attitude, feelings of loneliness, tendency to be anti-social, feeling disconnected from others, being overly empathic, putting yourself before others all the time, sacrificing your needs to please others, inability to set boundaries in relationships, and codependency.

Heart Chakra: "I Love"

Location: Chest

Color: Green or Pink

Element: Air

Mantra: "Yam"

Glands: Thymus

Aura: Astral Body

Crystals & Stones: Emerald, Jade, Green Aventurine, Malachite, Rose Quartz, Rhodonite, and Rhodochrosite

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page