top of page

The Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Part 8 of 8

The Crown chakra, or "Sahasrara" is the seventh primary chakra and is located on the top of the head. The Sanskrit name for the Crown chakra is "thousand Petaled" and its symbol is the thousand petaled lotus that symbolizes the Infinite, the Divine. It is the highest point in the body and acts as a bridge between our physical selves and the spiritual world. It is also the center responsible for our connection with the universal consciousness. It corresponds to spiritual awareness, self-knowledge, enlightenment, spiritual connection and transformation. Associated with the element of thought it lifts and inspires you, connecting you to the divine (you might call this angelic energy, the Source, or God.) This chakra also gives you a sense of your own divinity, the awareness that you are a soul in a human body, and unity to all there is.

It governs the brain, the nervous system and the endocrine system, which includes the hypothalamus, pituitary gland, and pineal gland. The Crown chakra is pure spirit, it is not associated with any element. This is one of the characteristics that distinguishes it from others. The Crown chakra transcends the physical body and matter, it is pure life energy that must flow freely.

The Crown chakra is associated with the color violet and represents purity, spirituality and enlightenment. The colors white and gold are also associated with the Crown chakra.

When the Crown chakra is in balance and healthy you may have a more positive outlook on life. There are visible changes in your attitude, and emotions like gratitude, compassion, and acceptance become your true Self. This kind of spiritual awakening can positively impact you both emotionally and physically as follows: Clarity of mind, increased empathy and compassion, improved intuition, mental balance, improved sleep patterns, boost of energy, and improved heart health just to name a few.

With a blocked Crown chakra a person may experience unwillingness to be open to other ideas, thoughts, or knowledge, lack of purpose, depression, inability to focus, confusion and indecisiveness, and a disconnection from your spiritual self.

You may experience migraines and headaches, difficulty with a sense of direction, sensitivity to light and sound, insomnia, fatigue, and a feeling of being disconnected and alienated. You may have an addiction to spirituality, or the opposite having cynicism of spirituality. You may experience neurological disorders, have a materialistic attitude, or the inability to relax and let go.

Crown Chakra: "I Understand"

Location: Top of the head

Color: Violet, White, or Gold

Element: Thought

Mantra: "SHAM"

Glands: Endocrine System

Aura: Ketheric Body

Crystals & Stones: Amethyst, Charoite, Clear Quartz, Sugalite, Ametrine, Rutilated Quartz, and Selenite

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page